

Report for:	Annual Council
Date of Meeting:	26 May 2022
Subject:	Return of Councillors and Notification of Members of political groups, including Leaders, Deputy Leaders and Party Whips
Responsible Officer:	Hugh Peart, Director of Legal and Governance Services
Exempt:	No
Wards affected:	All
Enclosures:	Appendix – List of Elected Members

Section 1 – Summary and Recommendations

- 1.1 This report sets out details of the Councillors elected at the Election held on Thursday 5 May 2022 and the notification received of the membership of political groups on the Council. There are 31 Conservative Members and 24 Labour Members.
- 1.2 Notification has been received that the Leader of the Majority Group is Councillor Paul Osborn, the Deputy Leader, Councillor Marilyn Ashton and Chief Whip, Councillor Chris Baxter. The Minority Party have notified that their Leader is Councillor David Perry, the Deputy Leader, Councillor Natasha Proctor and Chief Whip, Councillor Dean Gilligan.

Recommendations:

- 2.1 That the return of Councillors elected, and their respective Wards, at the Borough Council elections on Thursday 5 May 2022, as set out in the Appendix, including the membership of the respective political groups, be noted.
- 2.2 That the Group Officers, as set out in paragraph 1.2 above, be noted.

Section 4 - Contact Details and Background Papers

Contact: Alison Atherton, Senior Professional Democratic Services

Background Papers: Notification from Parties